Purslane Summer Salad (Help! There are Weeds in my CSA Share!)

I opened my CSA share this week to find a bunch of weeds, literally.  What??? I grow these babies in my garden, yank ’em out, and chuck ’em to the chickens.  However, having paid for this particular bunch of organic weeds, I was determined to give them a try.  Oh, and I also had less than 10  minutes to do so because husband made most of the dinner, I had only to make some veg,  I was dallying about, and completely lost track of time.  Having never cooked with Purslane before, a quick Internet search pulled up this 2002 Gourmet recipe, and here’s how I modified it:

In a saute pan on medium high, quickly sauté:

  • a drizzle of olive oil
  • 3 summer squash, sliced
  • dash of salt

While that sears, in a salad bowl whisk the dressing together:

  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped vidalia onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Add to the salad the squash (let it cool a bit) plus:

  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 bunch purslane, thick stems removed
  • 1 cup pear or cherry tomatoes, halved lengthwise

Toss and serve.  And the result?  A good salad, but I think I’d use a different green next time.  The purslane was kind of tough and bitter.

IMG_4255

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

