Kohlrabi Salad

I never used to know what to do with Kohlrabi. I’ve tried it baked, grilled, and boiled. Blah. Although I suppose it’s ok roasted with a bunch of other root vegetables, its currently 97F outside and there is no way I’m turning on the oven. Then I discovered it raw in this salad combination. It reminds of the seedless part of a cucumber: Mild, refreshing and crunchy. It’s also quite easy to make as it only requires a quick toss.  The vinaigrette is a keeper for a variety of salads… green, pasta, potato.

Kohlrabi Salad (serves 4)

  • 1 large bulb kohlrabi, peeled and sliced thin
  • 2 cups greens
  • 1 Tbsp capers
  • 1 Tbsp Vinaigrette (see below)

Vinaigrette

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 1″ piece fresh ginger, minced
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 c olive or grapeseed oil

20120623-184657.jpg

8 responses to this post.

  1. Genius! I never know what to do with kohlrabi either, but this looks delicious.

    Reply

  2. This looks delicious…and refreshing! This is definitely on my “to make” list once I get a load of kohlrabi in my box 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love it cooked but this looks like a great alternative.

    Reply

  4. This looks amazing! We’re new fans of kohlrabi, but only if it’s raw. Most often that means cut into matchsticks and served in place of carrots or celery. We have, however, had really good luck shredding it and adding it to cold salads. My fav is a curry chicken salad (http://bit.ly/MwfDGP)

    Reply

  5. […] for kohlrabi inspiration?  Me too.  I finally developed a taste for the bulb in my  my favorite kohlrabi salad.  But the greens?  Hmm.  Instead of immediately throwing the greens to the chickens, I thought […]

    Reply

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

