Grilled Garlic Scapes

I think I’ve discovered a use for nearly every part of the garlic plant. The bulb is the part everyone knows how to use, the greens go into pesto, and the scapes are terrific on the grill or lightly sautéed and added to omelets or quiches.

Planted in the fall, our garlic continues on its merry maturation cycle.  It recently sent up the flowering part of the plant or scape, which we chop off so that the plant can put its energy towards that delicious bulb.  Toss with a pinch of salt and drizzle of olive oil.

20120623-184622.jpg

A little grill flame and ta-da!  One guest described them as garlicky green beans.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love garlic scapes! We are in week 3 of our csa, and I have snuck scapes into the freezer, and almost every meal so far!

    Reply

  2. […] harvested some early bulbs for their tender garlic greens in pesto, and chopped off the flower scapes for the grill.  I thought I’d try my hand at making garlic braids this year.  I found this […]

    Reply

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

