Slow Roasted Leg of Spring Lamb with Greek-Style Garden Herbs

Memorial Day ushers in the summer season in our area, but I wanted to pause and reflect on a beautiful spring and the sacrifice of our servicemen and women. Perhaps it’s growing up in the Catholic tradition, but I thought the lamb would symbolize both at our Memorial Day party this afternoon.

The herbs came fresh from our garden.

Oregano…

Lemon Thyme…

Rosemary…

The inspiration for this recipe came from Orestis’ Kouzina: Slow Roasted Leg of Lamb.

  • 8 lbs bone in leg of lamb
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp fine sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • Bunch oregano
  • Bunch lemon thyme
  • Bunch rosemary
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 1 cup red wine

Preheat the oven to 250F. Place lamb in roasting dish. Slice one clove garlic.

20120526-200025.jpg

With a pairing knife, puncture the lamb and insert the sliced garlic.

Combine the olive oil, salt, pepper, and half of the oregano leaves. You can hold the sprigs of oregano towards the top and strip the bottom leaves from the woody stems for this step.

 

Rub onto the lamb. If you like salty, sprinkle up to another Tbsp over the lamb.  Add a dash or two of cinnamon.  Place the remainder of the herbs and garlic into the bottom of the roasting pan. Pour in the wine.

20120526-200112.jpg

Cover and roast for at least 7 hours or until the meat is fall-off-the-bone tender.

20120526-200123.jpg

Slice and serve.  Excellent when accompanied with tzatziki and pita.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Can I come over? LOL We left Boston in 2001 and no one eats lamb where we are now! I am missing lamb! Your recipe sounds so good! I am going to have to go one a freezer filling quest! Nice read!

    Reply

    • No lamb??? I’ve had the opposite experience: I’ve only discovered it as an adult since my Mum couldn’t stand the stuff and I’d now be quite forlorn without it. I hope you find some!

      Reply

      • I am stunned that no one here ever even tasted lamb! I found some farms online and it seems I need to buy the whole lamb but the more i think about it… chops, gyros, legs… yum! I love the photos of you herbs!

      • Whether you have the freezer space or the opportunity to roast it on the front lawn “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” style, I’d say go for it!

  2. I’m envious of your adorable herbal garden.

    Reply

  3. Funny, I have a lamb shoulder on my oven right now, doing the long slow roast. The whole house smells divine!! Hope mine tastes as good as yours look.

    Reply

  4. my mouth is watering…i LOVE lamb…and this looks like the perfect recipe 🙂

    Reply

  5. I heart your oregano container!! And I sooo wish I had pla

    Reply

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

