My First Poultry Show: Courtesy of the Sussex County Poultry Fanciers

Today I was inititated into the wild world of the poultry show circuit.  It reminded me of “Best in Show,” but the participants infinitely more down to earth.  We drove over the border to the New Jersey State Fair Grounds for the day and reveled in all things chicken.

Wow!  The number and variety of birds was astonding.  There had to be well over a thousand entries.  The best headed to the Champions Row.

There were also quite a selection of birds for sale.  Needless to say, I was sorely tempted, but just kept reminding myself of my 24 hatching eggs currently in the incubator.

I also saw several gorgeous Faverolles hens.  I had really hoped to see a Faverolles rooster up close, but talking with owners and fellow fanciers just confirmed that we made the right decision in selecting the Faverolles as the basis of our self-perpetuating heritage flock.  Who knows?  Maybe my birds will be in the show next year?

There were many other events at the fairgrounds today including a Pet Expo, a Horse Show, fishing in the pond, and Farmers’ Market. The market was held in a scenic barn.

Since I missed our weekly market, I made a few purchases that would last the ride home from New Jersey including local wine and bread from Hopewell Valley Vineyards and cheese from Springhouse Creamery.  What a great day thanks to the folks with the Sussex County Poultry Fanciers.  If you’ve never been to a show, please go.  It’s easy to find, just follow the crowing!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t know they had chicken shows. Sounds like a lot of fun.

    Reply

    • I didn’t know either until I read a listing in my “Backyard Poultry” magazine and then found a whole forum on backyardchickens.com while trying to find out a bit more about the Sussex show. It seems they’re hosted all over the country. I would totally recommend a visit because you’re right… It’s a lot of fun!

      Reply

  2. Posted by A Table in the Sun on May 20, 2012 at 8:15 am

    I’ve never been to a chicken show either. I’ll have to see if we have them here in California.

    Reply

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

