The Farmers’ Market & CSA Challenge

May marks the beginning of our CSA share and local Farmers’ Market.  In an effort to support our local organic farmers and businesses, I’m going to purchase whatever can be purchased from said market to plan our week’s meals… on a budget.  I found this nifty USDA website for some reference points and am aiming for somewhere between the “low-cost plan” and “moderate-cost plan,” which translates to $130 per week for our family of three.  Before we get too excited about that number for a delicious organic spending spree, I need to subtract some fixed costs.  So each week we can take away approximately $5 for chicken feed, $25 for our vegetable share, $10 for our fruit share, and $10 for our cheese share (total luxury, I know), which leaves me with $80 for the week for everything else.

The CSA and my mini farm will supply the weeks’ fruits, vegetables, herbs, and cheese.  My chickens will provide both eggs and meat.  The farmers’ market will take care of local, humanely-raised proteins (beef, fish, duck), some starches (bread, pasta), and local sweet (honey, chocolate croissants).  The grocery store will clean up the rest (beans, rice, olive oil, salt, etc.), which are my pantry staple items I always like to have available.

How will this look on the Bibliopharm blog each week?  On Saturday after the market, I’ll post the surprises I come home with and how I’ll integrate them into our weekly meal plan.  If a recipe is particularly successful, I’ll post it.

Healthy eating, healthy community, and healthy wallet – I love this challenge!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Wonderful challenge! I have been a CSA subscriber for almost 2 years now and I LOVE it! Looking forward to seeing what wonderful things you share with us 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing what you get each week and what you do with it. I follow a very similar food philosophy although I buy eggs from a neighbor with chickens (there are SO many coyotes in my neighborhood).

    Reply

  3. Posted by atableinthesun on May 13, 2012 at 10:43 am

    I love the challenge.

    Reply

What do you have to say? The family and flock would love to hear from you!

